Remember, remember, something about November

My Novembers always seem to be busy, and hold some sort of significant event. I don’t know why, maybe my self-inflicted stress of Nanowrimo heightens my senses and makes everything else seem more poignant. I am Nano-ing again as usual; this year I am attempting a semi-sensibly ghost story and so far (4 days in!) it is going well and I am up to date with the daily word count for the first time in my entire novelling career!

Last November, I’d just started my little coffee consulting business, and all our stuff – all the furniture, books, corsets and other essentials finally, finally arrived on the boat from the UK.

November before that, I was actually in Regina, but just at the hostel, in those two mad weeks where I discovered what a sad joke Ken from Kave Haz was, got what I thought would be a great job at 13th Ave Coffee, and met the wonderful Tamara just after her birthday. I also started this blog – I got a WordPress “Happy Anniversary” the other day!

blogiversary
November 2010 we’d just got back from South Africa, and were frantically rushing round insanely trying to get my cafe open.

In 2009 I was freezing on my coffee stall and scooting to Nano write-ins on Binky (the much beloved heap of crap, otherwise known as my scooter), and throwing up on a daily basis thanks to incubating Miranda.

And in 2008, I’d just arrived in Nicaragua!

So, I like Novembers. This year I am feeling unnaturally positive too. For the first time in years I have a Proper Job (as the Mother would call it) which could actually turn into a career if I chose. I may be slaving over a hot scanner still, but I am enjoying it.

Unlike last November, it has only just started snowing. Carl and I battled our way to work in it this morning, but I was still in my cowboy boots rather than the Giant Canadian Snow Boots. It’s only single-digits below zero and apparently it may even melt again by the end of the week. The view from Floor 18 looked very wintery this morning though:

2013-10-21 12.36.28Weather forecasts suggest that this winter is going to be a lot shorter with less snow, but apparently, even colder!! I dread to think how that is possible, I am still traumatised by the -49 degrees Celsius of last  January…. Fortunately this year my walking commute to work is about ten minutes shorter, and there is the minutest possibility that at some point soon I may be able to drive as well. I’ve had 3 hours of lessons driving an automatic on the wrong side of the road in amongst the Monster Trucks, and it’s not quite as terrifying as I’d feared. Mind you, my last lesson was before the snow started. It is going to take A LOT of courage to drive on ice for the first time. I suppose we ought to invest in winter tyres too.

Nevertheless, in a strange way I am looking forward to Proper Winter. I got me boots, and me “toque”.

BRING IT ON!!!

"I am Canadian!"* *kinda
“I am Canadian!”*
*kinda
Leave a Reply

