All we hear is, Radio Pumpkin

Last weekend saw our first ever Thanksgiving celebration! Canada’s official Thanksgiving day is always the 2nd Monday in October, unlike the much later American one. Yet another public holiday though, which was always going to be enjoyable.

I didn’t really understand what you are supposed to do at Thanksgiving. Most people I asked seemed to shrug and give responses along the lines of “Eat too much” or “It’s kinda like Christmas but without the presents.” There were a lot of Good Causes to support, particularly Thanksgiving meals available from the Food Bank and food donation drives to support them. I dropped off a few tins at the collection point in Safeways, as did many others,  I sincerely hope someone else donated a can-opener.

I asked on Twitter what Thanksgiving meant.. I got two responses almost immediately. Within those two, 140 character messages, there were EIGHT uses of the word “pumpkin”.

Based on this sage advice, I made plenty of Pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, and pumpkin spice lattes at work, and then Weird Things started to occur. We had a visit from a reporter for the local Talk Radio at the restaurant, who wanted to to chat to our customers about Vegetarian Thanksgiving. You can listen to their comments here:  RMN%20VEG.mp3
Warning: It was here that I first learned about the existence of Tofurkey. I wish to have my brain rinsed of that idea. Shudder.

As if that wasn’t enough, I made some throw-away comment about this being our first thanksgiving because we just don’t celebrate it in the UK; I got a call back from the same reporter that evening, as she thought our immigration story was interesting. And then she turned up on our doorstep and recorded me waffling about our Big Move and the five-month waiting-for-visa torture.

AND THEN, the next day I got another call from a radio show producer, this time from CBC, inviting me on Craig Lederhouse’s show again. This was in no way connected to the Talk Radio piece, just chance that they’d both contacted me in the same week?! CBC’s piece was live and I had to frantically pedal over to the studios in subzero temperatures after work. Fortunately this left me very little time to get nervous, but also very little time to prepare! They’d asked me to come up with some ideas for what coffees people should be drinking with their Thanksgiving meal! I did try and explain I wasn’t too sure what a Thanksgiving meal actually was, and even I couldn’t dream up a coffee pairing for roast turkey, but I did manage to come up with some suggestions that sounded vaguely plausible, I hope.

Here’s the podcast of my piece. I’m not sure how long it will be up on the site for though.

Thanksgiving From Doctor Coffee

Strange claims to fame aside, we did enjoy our first Thanksgiving. We feasted and did the whole meal properly, pumpkin  pie and all, stuffed ourselves absolutely stupid, jumped in leaves, went out for a walk when it was hailing (a Canadian tradition?) and gave quiet thanks to whoever happened to be listening for the day off… and less flippantly, for radio show invites, pie-appreciating customers at work, mutant turkeys, crunchy leaves and mainly just being here in Canada!!

The feast – for two adults and one toddler.
Leave a Reply

