Packing packing and more packing

Oh wow…. it is all finally beginning to hit home… WE’RE ACTUALLY LEAVING FOR GOOD!! I am trying to pack and failing miserably, mainly because Miri is at the stage of enjoying Putting Things In Boxes – and then taking them out again.
Lots of my friends are coming over this week for final saunas and final goodbyes, and Miri has her last Rhymetime and Cookie Tots sessions this week and EVERYTHING IS COMPLETELY INSANE!

In the last three months, I’ve sold 64 things on Ebay, recycled 35kg of clothes, given away 3 bags & 1 box of stuff on Freecycle, handed down three bags of Miri’s clothes to Luke and Nyx, regailed my friends with shoes and books from “Second-Hand Santa”, made small profits at one car boot sale and one baby fair & STILL THERE’S CLUTTER!!!
WHERE DOES IT ALL COME FROM??

HOW DID IT EVER FIT IN THE HOUSE IN THE FIRST PLACE?

I will never understand the physics of moving house.

And how do I even begin to decide what books I can’t live without?????

It’s not even that simple. It’s not just deciding what stuff I can possibly bring out now, it’s also packing up the stuff I want Carl to ship over for me later when he comes out finally as well, and then deciding what stuff can be donated to charity/sold/recycled/thrown out so Carl doesn’t have to go through all my stuff by himself. It is quite liberating in a way, but also immensely hard. I have resorted to leaving little stickers on everything with instructions for Carl!

 

On another note, I can bring 46kg of STUFF with me to Canada… This means after packing clothes and other essentials, I am reduced to ONE cake tin, 4 cupcake moulds, 2 cookbooks, my manual egg whisk and my favourite spatula.

This is either devastating or brilliant – how Ugly are my cakes going to be now?

Leave a Reply

